P31 Women’s Conference

​An excellent wife who can find? She is far more precious than jewels. Proverbs 31:10 ESV

The Character of an Excellent Woman 

Who can find an excellent woman? Is she you? Is she me? She is all of us. 

The P31 Women’s Conference (formerly known as the Leavell Lecture) was held this past weekend in New Orleans, Louisiana on their campus. This was the first time I  have ever participated in this conference.  I left feeling encouraged and empowered. Great reasons to share my experience with you.

 It’s my understanding that this conference has been held yearly for women who are ministry wives, students, and really any woman who would like to take part.  The conference is filled with a weekend of teaching, testimonies, fellowship, and encouragement.  It’s an opportunity for women to connect with other women who are on campus and in ministry. I’m learning that support is pertinent in ministry.  More importantly, our relationship with God is what ultimately carries us through day by day.  

Mary Cox and I at the P31 Conference.

The keynote speaker of both days was the lovely Mary Cox. She is a pastor’s wife and women’s ministry director at North Metro Baptist Church in Lawrenceville, Georgia.  She is also a ministry wife consultant with the Georgia Baptist Convention. What I appreciated the most from this woman of God was how transparent she was while she spoke to us. She was genuine and authentic with her words. It is clear that our experiences are not completely for us or our benefit but to encourage that person who may be unsure of their faith in God.   

Be Excellent, Be Radiant

Courtney Veasey giving us the theme interpretation.

What do you think of when you hear “Proverbs 31 Woman”? Is she perfect? Is she blameless? Of course not my dear. Being a woman of virtue doesn’t mean the perfect woman or wife. A woman of excellence is the opposite of perfection. No one’s perfect. You may even ask, “is this attainable”? We were given a heartfelt yes. Mary mentioned how important bearing the fruit of the spirit it is. This is how we build our excellent, godly character. As it says in Galatians 5:22-23,

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law”.

 A woman of excellence is not a perfect woman but a godly woman. 

“She is not striving; she is living out of the center of a life that fears or reveres God, and her value and choices prove it”. The Devotional For Women- Donna Gaines

God’s love radiates through us when we commit our ways to Him. He eminates brightly when we are obedient. 

“The virtuous wife is simply picture of a woman whose life reflects her relationship and commitment to God”. -Donna Gaines

A Heartfelt Moment

Prayer

At the end of the last day, two of the ladies encouraged all of us to stand in two parallel lines facing each other.  One at time, we each made our petition to the group after saying our names. The other ladies in line were asked to say a prayer for that woman who walked down the aisle. This was the most heart-felt portion of the conference. When it was my turn, I said my name and asked that they would pray for my trust in God. As I walked with my head bowed, I felt the presence of God while hearing the fervent prayers of these sweet women. Isn’t it a blessing to request prayer and having 50+ ladies praying in agreement with you at the same time? These ladies interceded for me and barely knew me. I felt a burden lifted from my shoulders and my God-confidence increased.

I look forward to next year’s conference! Until then I hope to fellowship with them in thw upcoming events.


Rachel

Leave a Reply

