Why I decided to go natural

image

In summer 2005, one of my good friends and I were in my dorm room in the process of doing my hair. Then, I might have relaxed my hair 3-4 times a year for pretty much of my teenage and adult life.  Well, because I was a college student, money was a little funny. I resorted in “box perms” for the most part. On this particular day, I had gotten the WORST chemical burn ever! I couldn’t keep it in for even five minutes! Can you imagine that?? Because of this horrible experience, I decided to discontinue my use of no lye relaxers and just flat iron my hair.  To some, they would call my hair “good hair” because to them I didn’t need chemicals to manage it.  My hair surprisingly straighten fairly easy so I was pretty content, temporarily.  For a year, I straighten my hair because I had no earthly idea of what to do. I then chopped off about 6 inches of my hair. Ten years ago, natural hair wasn’t as popular as it is now. To shorten my story, it took me some time to get use to the transition and loving my hair for what it was becoming. Although, I’ve gotten some negativity for my natural hair, I learn to embrace it. I began to see the real me beyond all of it. At the end of the day, if you don’t love what you have, you will never be able to appreciate it #crownedtresses 👑✌

Leave a Reply

